Jira Server sizing

Andreas Langwaldt November 21, 2016

I am new to JIRA and have to szie a Server for our production environment.

In the final configuration we will have about 500 JIRA user.

According the system requirements I am going to size my server as follows:

• Hypervisor: Microsoft HyperV
  • Microsoft SQL Server 2014
  • 2 x CPU XEON 3.00 GHz
  • 16 GB RAM
  • Disk Partitioning: C:\ System - 60 GB; D:\ Other Data - 100 GB; E:\ SQL Database - 250 GB

Is this configuration ok or did a miss important things?

Thank you and best Regards

Christian

1 answer

0 votes
Phill Fox
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
November 21, 2016

Hi Christian Majewski

The first thing to say is that there are so many different configurations out there that a single one-size fits all approach is never going to work. 

Atlassian provide the guidance on sizing at https://confluence.atlassian.com/enterprise/jira-sizing-guide-461504623.html but you should also consider the key factors on how your usage profile is going to look.

The following are not an exhaustive list but give you indications of some of the challenges that can occur if you do not carefully consider you user profile.

• Extensive use of JIRA Software in particular large number of items in Agile boards
  • Large attachments can easily use up your data storage
  • Which plugins are to be used these can impact the memory usage considerably
  • How many of the 500 users will be actively using the system at any point in time. 500 occasional users spread across 24 hours is a very different profile to 500 constant users all active within a 9-5 office hours period
  • Custom fields can have a large impact on both the database usage and also memory and so you should consider these carefully too.