Jira Manager Approval Workflow

Nick Skinner May 8, 2013

Hi All,

I am still pretty new to Jira workflows, and I was wondering if it is possible to setup a rather sophisticated approval workflow with Jira. In my organization every worker has a specific reporting manager, department manager, and a C-level officer. This data is stored in a database and is accesible via Microsoft Active Directory. Depending upon who needs a request approved the manager or mangers the request needs to go through will be different. And the approval requests will need to go through the different levels of managers depending upon the price point of the approval request.

Is there a way to lookup the appropriate manager or manager(s) using Microsoft Active Directory (or a plugin of some type) so that the approval can be sent to the appropriate manager or managers?

4 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Nick Skinner May 13, 2013

I am still very new to Jira administration so I am still playing catch up. From what I can interpret from Radu's first hyperlink, that is good example of setting up an approval workflow. But unless I am missing something there is not way in that example to use AD to lookup the currently logged in user's manager. Radu's second hyperlink goes to a confluence routine that seems to be able to what I am looking for. But that is a confluence routine. Will that same routine work in Jira?