Jira Dashboard all project status

Mark Litherland May 16, 2017

This should not be this difficult.  I'm new to Jira but a longtime developer with a small team, so we don't have thousands of projects to manage.  I have built reporting and dashboard analytics in other systems for many years and what I want should be dead simple, but holy cow I think developers sometimes make things complex just because they can.

I need a simple "All Project Status" dashboard that I can share with the development team AND the sales team, that is really straightforward.  It just needs to show the backlog projects, work-in-progress, and completed projects, with resource allocation.  This is to handle two things - a visible project page for the sales team, so they know what we are slammed with when they decide to over-commit us to something new, and secondarily a "front door" for the dev team, to help them pick up additional work.

This should almost be out of the box stuff, I would think.  But I've spent a lot of time looking into filters, gadgets, and I'm coming up blank and getting frustrated.  I like the tool to build stories and get development going, but I also need high-level project visibility and that is a lot harder than it needs to be.

2 answers

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 16, 2017

Projects don't have a status, they're just containers for issues and their configuration.  There's no concept of project status.

A couple of simple options though

1.  Look in the marketplace for the Portfolio management type add-ons (Portfolio, Big Picture, etc etc)

2. When creating a new project, have issue #1 be a "project health" type issue, and store the data you need on there (and automate it as much as possible)