Jira / Confluence / Bitbucket: what kind of personal data is logged (GPDR)

Jens Kisters //SeibertSolutions
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 29, 2018

Hello fellow atlassian users,

our data security officer had one more question in the course of finalizing our measures to be GPDR compliant, and i am struggeling to find an answer:

Which personal data is logged by Jira / Confluence / Bitbucket in any "technical logs" ?

I studied Atlassians GDPR Guide and it names the obvious locations (Issue Fields, User Fields, Comments, Worklogs etc.)

But i know that for example in Jira

• the atlassian-jira.log often holds user names
  • you can find out what a administrator did when looking at the audit logs
  • it is logged when a user logs in

and im pretty sure theres more data like this stored in Jira.

Is there a comprehensive list somewhere about these kind of logs?

Or is this not relevant from the GPDR point of view?

thanks in advance

Jens

3 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
June 7, 2018

To answer my own question after some great insights from @Alexander Kueken:

I am thinking of making the GPDR documentation state that Jira logs every action a user did and from which IP he/she did do that,

also stating how long logs are stored.

Even if this is only partially true, but i guess we'd be on the safe(er) side like this.

1 vote
Alexander Kueken June 6, 2018

Hi Jens,