[Jira Automation] Summary of Epics ticket on a project board

tinnt January 11, 2022

As an Product Security Officer, my main job is to giving solution/recommendation for development team on a related security ticket. But as the company grows, does the scope of my work expands too. 

My need is as below to a basic slack message(output):

• Epic issue 1
    • Story: Todo ticket: 12
    • Story: In-progress ticket: 0
    • Storu: Closed ticket: 25
  • Epic issue 2
    • Story: Todo ticket: 14
    • Story: In-progress ticket: 10
    • Storu: Closed ticket: 0

As I involved in the Jira Automation, I found that it's really complicated if only using Jira Automation, and Jira Rest API is out of the question because of the infrastructure complexity. Anyone have any ideas?

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Bill Sheboy
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 11, 2022

Hi @tinnt -- Welcome to the Atlassian Community!

Would you please clarify your need/use case? 

Your explanation of "giving solution/recommendation for development team on a related security ticket" does not match where you seem to show an open-ended list of epics with child issue counts by status category.  How will the second one help do the first thing?

If the list of epics is not an open-ended set (or you can mark issues somehow), you may want to consider using:

• dashboards and gadgets to summary the statuses of the epics' children
  • saved JQL filter subscriptions
  • automation for Jira to sum up the counts (into created variables) and then send the Slack message
  • investigate purchase of marketplace addon apps to improve reporting/dashboard information

Kind regards,
Bill

tinnt January 11, 2022