JQuery script to clear field worked in JIRA 4 but does not in 6

Edward Sargent August 14, 2013

The script empties Assignee if another field changes, in this case the custom field Location

<script type="text/javascript">

jQuery(document).ready(function() {

var location_fld = document.getElementById("customfield_10505");

var assignee_fld = document.getElementById("assignee");

location_fld.onchange = function(){

assignee_fld.value = "";

}

});

</script>

I am a novice at modifing JIRA with scripts so please don't provide me a geeky response that I can't follow. This is a new copy of JIRA on a new server, not an upgrade, so maybe a missing plugin or configuration is at fault.

4 answers

0 votes
Edward Sargent August 16, 2013

The code was breaking the maintenance page for Custom Fields so I removed it. I will need to readdress this later when I have the time. Thanks for your help.

Edward Sargent August 16, 2013

Is there a good reference document to learn these things?

0 votes
Edward Sargent August 15, 2013

I had seen the JIRA.bind... on responses to other questions but did not know what it was for. Anyway I applied it but the problem remains. Do these scripts still go in the description field?

0 votes
RambanamP
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 14, 2013

your code also seems correct but you have to include that in following event

JIRA.bind(JIRA.Events.NEW_CONTENT_ADDED, function (e,context) {
//your logic here
});

you can try with following code

&lt;script type="text/javascript"&gt;  
jQuery(document).ready(function($) {
JIRA.bind(JIRA.Events.NEW_CONTENT_ADDED, function (e,context) {
		clearAssignee();
	});
		clearAssignee();
function clearAssignee(){
	$('#customfield_10505').change(function() {	
		$('#assignee').val('');
	}):

}

});
&lt;/script&gt;

RambanamP
Rising Star