JIRA : Group by components

donikian February 11, 2014

I would like to use one of my filters on the dashboard that is grouping the tickets by components.

1 answer

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 11, 2014

Grouping by field X is done by whatever you are displaying your filter in. So you need to look at what you're doing on the dashboard.

There's not a lot more I can say here, I'm afraid your question is nothing more than a vague "I want", and without detail of what you're trying to achieve, I can't tell you any more.

donikian February 17, 2014

Thanks for your answer Nic. I agree it's vague. So here is really what I need. As a manager, I would like to have more globale stats on what has been achieved and what is still to be done.

My demands (tickets) are all parts of a specific component in my project. So instead of having the stats on my demands, I would like to have for example :

component X / 2 tickets todo, 3 tickets in progress, 10 tickets done

component Y / 4 tickets todo, 5 tickets in progress, 2 tickets done

donikian February 17, 2014

Thanks Nic, that's very helpful.

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 17, 2014

Ah, now that's a nice clear spec, and it's a doddle too.

• Create a filter that catches all the issues you want to report on (I'd start with "project = ABC", but you can be as clever as you want with it). Save it with a sensible name
  • Create/amend a dashboard
  • Add a "2 dimensional filter statistics" gadget, with settings
    • Filter: My sensible filter name
    • X axis: status
    • Y axis: components