JIRA - Epic Estimation & Issue links

khacminhrt November 24, 2016

Hi, 

I am new to JIRA and I have 2 questions about Epic estimation and issue links:

1. Epic estimation: I created an epic, then I created some issues with estimation inside this epic and the epic estimation changed corresponding. When I create some sub-tasks (of above issues) with estimations, the total estimation of issues increase. However, the total estimation of epic does not change. 

2. Issue links: What is a real meaning of issue links? I think they just like some "labels". There is no constraint between the linked issues. The issue ISSUE-01 is marked "is blocked by ISSUE-02" can be closed although ISSUE-02 is still in progress.

Did I use JIRA incorrectly?

Thank you in advance.

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
November 24, 2016
  1.  There's a chunk of history we could try to explain here that would show you how we got to this quite inconsistent view, and a further conversation about why it's a bit broken in JIRA and why it can't be easily fixed, but I'll skip that for now because it's not that interesting.  The simple response is that you should be estimating at story/task level, not sub-tasks.  Sub-tasks are just for splitting stories up so you can assign bits of them, they're not for estimates.