JIRA, Confluence? What Atlassian technology for a website from a scratch?

Michal Szklarzewski June 29, 2013

I'm new to Atlassian products but from what I've seen the tools can be useful for the project I'm starting to manage. Company, I've just started to work in would like to run an online portal for our internals and cooperating externals. Goal is to build a marketplace platform for projects and talents. I’m not sure if I’ll manage to explain desired product, it’s little bit similar to web places like elance.com or guru.com, where freelancers meet work opportunities and business meet freelance.

I would need a functionality described here (below main bullets I’ll try to give a company example)

1.Register and account without being created by administrators.

a.New project manager needs to run a new project.

2.Build and manage the user profile (overview, tagged skills – choosing, without possibility of creating new ones, portfolio, location, contact information …)

a.Project managers builds his profile, as well as developer, business analysts or external freelancer does.

b.Project manager runs a new project, located in the desired category and subcategory if needed. Project name, description, specific skills, work arrangement (fixed price, time & material), location, privacy and other options are required to fulfill.

3.Project manager has a budget but he has no internal to deliver it on time. He needs to find one or more freelancers to complete a team.

a.Project manager has no budget but he has his team completed. He runs a another type (i.e. non-commercial one) and picks specific users to his project without any contest.

b.Project site is ready, desired team is ready. PM must have tools to manage the project (tasks, % of progress, bug tracking, team calendar, cost list etc)

4.When the job is done, money should be paid. Escrow?

5.Ratings contractors.