JIRA Cloud vs JIRA Server Administration Differences

Ricky Lin October 25, 2017

I've thoroughly reviewed this article and want to get a perspective from the real world scenario.  My background is JIRA Server Administrator with about 2 1/2 years of experience and want to know what are the things I need to be aware of if I were to become a JIRA Cloud Administrator (in both Software & Confluence)?

Basically, what are some of the qualities that you'd expect from a JIRA Cloud Administration that a JIRA Server Administrator won't have?  How would my day-to-day be immediately impacted by the transition if I were to administer Cloud?

My assumption is that there should be less administrative work as Atlassian will be hosting your instance and you will have to work with Atlassian support for help (as you would for Office 365).

Would appreciate any insights anyone may offer...

Cheers

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Shannon S
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
October 26, 2017

Hi Ricky,

That article you reviewed covers it pretty well. Any Server Administration functions of course will be restricted for you. Many customizations aren't possible. There are fewer add-ons available for Cloud than Server. In addition, you'll want to have a very close look at the Restricted Functions pages listed in the article (including the specifics at the bottom of that page for Confluence and Jira). 

There are some new features in Jira Cloud and Confluence Cloud that Server doesn't have, since they're two different platforms. In addition, both have the New Look that we've begun applying to instances this year.

My recommendation would be to get the trial instance, and use it to see if it will work for you.

Kind Regards,
Shannon

Ricky Lin December 21, 2017

Thank you for the reply Shannon!  This definitely helped me out :)

Additional questions: