JIRA 6.1 upgrade deletes windows service.

Greg Davis November 19, 2013

I'm upgrading JIRA 6.0.7 to 6.1.3 on a Windows 7 64 bit pc where I am an administrator. I am running the upgrade as administrator and it appears to complete.

But it deletes the old Windows 6.0.7 service and does not create a new one.

I picked the option to upgrade the existing one when running the upgrade.

I have had this same problem when upgrading on our Windows 8 32 bit dev and 64 bit Production servers going from 5.1 to 6.0 and had to do a new install and restore from backup which was very time consuming.

Any ideas?

1 answer

0 votes
darylchuah
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
November 20, 2013

Hi Greg

Can you please try to have a read on https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/JIRA/Running+JIRA+as+a+Service#RunningJIRAasaService-Troubleshooting

Besides, this similar issue also being raised in here before that: https://answers.atlassian.com/questions/167839/jira-service-is-not-installing perhaps you can refer on the discussion as well to get an idea on how to troubleshoot your case here.

Hopefully it will help you a little ;)

Greg Davis November 20, 2013

Daryl, neither seems to apply. I'm talking just running the newer install while the older version is installed and running per the instructions. The old service is deleted by the new installation but the service is not added back for the new code.

The strange thing is it's hit or miss. I have had it work one time and not the next and I'm not changing my process. As an example on my current dev instance on my laptop it exhibited the behavior.