Incoming mail in JIra On Demand

Jon Are Storlokken July 3, 2013

Hi!

We've purchased an OnDemand license and intend to do a pilot before rolling it out.

My understanding is that you can reply to a notification email (address is jira@xyzco.atlassian.net)

and it will be included as a comment on the issue??

The POP server already looks like it's set up. I configured the Mail Handler to do what I want.

However, the emails are just disappearing... I'm not getting an error reply, but they are not turning up in Jira either...

What do I do?

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Jon Are Storlokken July 8, 2013

It appears the problem is around email aliases. My email is jon-are.lastname@company.com but I added the alias (I guess that's wthat it's called but I'm not an expert) jon.are.lastname@company.com because that's actually more correct and anyway easier for people to remember. However, It appears that JIRA doesn't recognize my emails because I use that email in my profile but JIRA sees my email as coming from the other one.

I added a default reporter and see that all my comments get added by the deafult reporter

0 votes
Stanislaw Piwowarczyk July 8, 2013

It appears the problem is around email aliases. My email is: jon-are.lastname@company.com. However, this is actually a misspelling and anyway people tend to get it wrong. So, I added jon.are.lastname@company.com and this is the one I use. However, it appears that this is causing the problem. However, I guess that JIRA would see my email as the first one. I added a defaulr reporter and all my emails now get added as comments by the default reporter.

0 votes
Marlon Aguiar
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
July 3, 2013

Hi Jon,

Replies will be included as long as the issue key is referenced on the email's subject.