I can't create an issue through Jira Rest API in Python

Test_Jira December 8, 2022

Good afternoon. I use the Jira and Python client, Telegram, I register through the project administrator. I specify a task, an executor, a priority, and when I click "create a task", I get an error in the console.

Why is this happening? After all, I am an administrator, and I can log in through the browser and create a task manually. Please help me.

{"errorMessages":["You do not have permission to create issues in this project."],"errors":{}}

2 answers

0 votes

Безымянный.png

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 8, 2022

Welcome to the Atlassian Community!

This is exactly what it says it is - the account you are using for the connection does not have "create issue" permission in the project you are trying to create the issue in.

There's two possibilities in your case usually - first that you are logging in as someone who has admin rights, but still does not have create issue in the project (admin rights means admin, not "can do anything"), and second that while you think you're logging in with one user on your device, you're actually not.

I log in through the administrator, enter the email and the APIkey token. In the settings you can see that the token is used during registration. I'm in the same way, I go through this user through the browser, and I normally create a task, without problems.

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 8, 2022

I'm afraid there's not a lot we can help you with.  The message you are getting is clear that you are logging in with an account that does not have "create issue" in that project.