I am unable to add new people to my JIRA project board.

Deleted user January 24, 2020

I am the team lead (& have administer permissions) but still unable to add new people / users to my project board. Its a private project, thus I understand to add people to the project they need to already be a user. Please can anybody advise on how I may do this? I'be tried to follow the Atlasssian help guide, but it doesn't seem to help. 

4 answers

2 votes
Karthik March 9, 2021

I am a site admin of my JIRA Cloud Service Management. I am unable to add new People to my project. No error displayed on the screen.

1 vote
Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 24, 2020

Are you saying that the folks you are adding are not yet users in your Jira instance? If not then your Jira admin would need to add them first. If they are already users then assuming you are on a next-gen project you should go to project settings > access?

Thanks for your response! How do I know who my Jira administrator is? I am the project Admin, does that mean I am not eligible to do that? 

P.s. Sorry I am new to JIRA. 

Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 24, 2020

There isn’t an obvious way with in Jira. I would suggest reaching out to your IT group as they typically own it. Most well formed IT groups will use Jira itself for internal requests (JSD). If so you could add an IT request to add users to Jira.

0 votes
Ole Treptow June 6, 2023

Hi @[deleted],

I know it's an older issue but I had the same problem.

As @Yogesh Mude said: you need an admin to invite the person. But some projects let you register as a self service if e.g. you have a white-listed domain.