How to use User Stories effectively in your Jira Project

Sarah Chapman May 9, 2021

Hi Jira Community, 

I am new to the concept of User Stories. I have only ever used tasks or subtasks for managing workloads, so have a bit of a dilemma of how to use them in my current project configuration. 

I have configured one Single Jira Project to be used to monitor all work for the department but split how people use issue types. 

• Development Team uses Epics, User Stories, Sub-Tasks
  • Analyst Team uses Epics, Tasks, and Sub-Tasks

Understandably, this is causing confusion particularly when linking Development and Analyst tickets as we are using issues types differently in the team. 

What I would like some feedback on is how the community would log the following work by issue types? Example below. 

• Regular Daily Reports (Epic)
  • Report Name to be delivered to user (Task)
  • Any tasks to maintain report (Sub-Task)

Could the above task be logged as a User Story? Does the fit the Jira definition? 

Thanks for your help, 

Sarah 

2 answers

0 votes
G subramanyam
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 10, 2021

Hi @Sarah Chapman here is the brief on how it goes:

1. When you create a project, you will create high level epics>> break into user stories >> create tasks /subtask as per your project needs and per your Jira admin configuration settings.
  2. You can create any number of projects and get the high level epics >>  break into user stories >> create tasks /subtask and assign to the "Scrum team members".
  3. Now the questions comes, what report you need to present to the management?
  4. If you want to present epics report: In the Jira projects you need to head to the "roadmap" section and "export". This will show the time lines of the epic along with status.

roadmap report.jpg