How to share a Dashboard with a created rol for a project

Operations Superviso Jira 2 December 3, 2013

Hi,

I have created two new roles for a project and I gave them permission to browse the project. Now I want to create new and different Dashboard for each new role, but when I share the Dashboard I select the project and I cannot see that new roles in the select list.

I need help to assign the new Dashbord to those roles.

Thanks in advance

9 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Operations Superviso Jira 2 December 9, 2013

Hi Nic,

I have been researching again in the answers and I found another question like mine and the solution was: "you only can share a dashboard to a role that your user has a membership in it. For example if User A want to share dashboard to Custom role, User A must be a member of Custom role"

I have test it and it worked. As I am an Administrator it is odd that as an Administrator have to be added to a specific role within a project to be able to share with that role, but it works like this.

Thanks for your help

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 9, 2013

Bother. I just assumed you were in the roles, looking back, I realise I completely forgot to check that.

Sorry!

There are very good reasons that admins can't just do everything automatically (it's a terrible security model and it leads you into situations where an admin simply can't replicate errors)

0 votes
Jason Jonas October 25, 2019

Sadly, this same behavior still exists when trying to share a dashboard with users with specific roles for a given project...you MUST be a member of the role in order to share the dashboard with the users who have that role :P -- even as a full Jira admin! Thanks for documenting this 'feature'.

0 votes
Operations Superviso Jira 2 December 9, 2013