How to remove/ hide closed issues from backlog

Jeffrey Mendiola September 19, 2017

I can still see closed issues from the previous completed sprint from my backlog.

this is my first time to use Jira as a PM tool. i created my first sprint and successfully completed it by hitting the complete button.

unfortunately there are some tasks that not yet resolve or still in progress.something in the system pop up and saying that do I want to put all the on going tasks to backlog, i choose yes. after clicking the ok button, all of my tasks from my previous sprint appears in my backlog and i cant remove them from that list.

what am i supposed and right thing to do?

Thanks in advance

9 answers

6 votes
mjsudol June 11, 2018

it would be helpful to have more than one DONE column...  

Wilhelm van der Merwe April 4, 2022

100% agree

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 4, 2022

Actually, no, it is not useful because your team does not need to see issues they have finished

Like # people like this
2 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 19, 2017

When you complete a sprint, all the issues you have not finished are, by definition, not done with, so they need to go either into another sprint, or back into your backlog.  They still need action, so you need to keep them somewhere that shows them as needing work.

Only issues that are in the far right-hand column of your working board will be seen as "done" by the sprint when you close it.

Jeffrey Mendiola September 19, 2017

Oh i see. so how can tag them now as done? based on the workflow i created, i only have inprogress-code review-for QA -closed.