How to manage inventory with JIRA or Confluence

NP December 2, 2013

Hi,

I'm new in JIRA environnements and I would like to manage our inventory with one of this JIRA or Confluence. Anyone now how can I do it? Is there an add-on for that? What's the cost?

Thank you for your help

Nicolas

5 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 3, 2013

I've not seen a proper "how to" on using Jira as an inventory system, but the usual starting point is to decide exactly what you want to track, and map that on to an issue.

I've used it a few times to track "assets", the usual one being servers. Each server is a single issue, usually with the host name as the summary. Information such as which test environment it's in, cpu, memory, datacentre, owner(s) and so-on are logged as fields. Upgrades and moves are logged as subtasks. The workflow is simplified down to "requested -> active -> decommissioned"

Deployments of software are logged separately and linked to the servers.

In one particularly advanced setup, we wrote a field that was a multi-select list populated directly from the list of servers.

There are loads of ways of doing some form of inventory management, but the first thing is always to define your data set - you might decide Jira isn't the place to do it.

NP December 3, 2013

Hi Nic,

Thank you for you tip. I think I will try this process and see if I can work with it easily.

Best Regards

Nicolas

0 votes
Tuncay Senturk
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 16, 2014

Hi Nicolas,

There is a brand new add-on named Inventory Plugin for JIRA.