How to manage inventory with JIRA or Confluence

Hi,

I'm new in JIRA environnements and I would like to manage our inventory with one of this JIRA or Confluence. Anyone now how can I do it? Is there an add-on for that? What's the cost?

Thank you for your help

Nicolas

5 answers

1 accepted

Accepted Answer
2 votes

I've not seen a proper "how to" on using Jira as an inventory system, but the usual starting point is to decide exactly what you want to track, and map that on to an issue.

I've used it a few times to track "assets", the usual one being servers. Each server is a single issue, usually with the host name as the summary. Information such as which test environment it's in, cpu, memory, datacentre, owner(s) and so-on are logged as fields. Upgrades and moves are logged as subtasks. The workflow is simplified down to "requested -> active -> decommissioned"

Deployments of software are logged separately and linked to the servers.

In one particularly advanced setup, we wrote a field that was a multi-select list populated directly from the list of servers.

There are loads of ways of doing some form of inventory management, but the first thing is always to define your data set - you might decide Jira isn't the place to do it.

Hi Nic,

Thank you for you tip. I think I will try this process and see if I can work with it easily.

Best Regards

Nicolas

0 votes

You probably don't need an addon for it. Creating custom issuetype, workflows, screens etc should cover most of it. It is difficult to walk you through everything but your JIRA admin will probably know about this already.

Thank you for the answer but in fact I am the JIRA admin... Do you know where I can find a "how to" to do it?

Hi Nicolas,

Nic basicaly gave you the first few steps, but if you need help doing this you can request it from an Atlassian Expert :

https://www.atlassian.com/resources/experts