How to manage Jira issues (create, edit, comment etc) programmatically

George Makos December 28, 2011

Hi there!

I'm new to Jira Development and I'm a bit confused on how can I manage Jira issues programmatically.

My goal is to create a windows application (prefferably using microsoft tools -C#/VB.NET etc-) with the functionality of creating and editing a Jira issue.

I've searched for possible solutions but couldn't find something suitable to my requirements.

So if there is any link for guides or tutorials regarding issue management through code, I would appreciate it if you could let me know..

Thanks in advance

George

4 answers

0 votes
Renjith Pillai
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 17, 2012

As far as I undertand about using SOAP using Visual Studio C# (with any version for that matter), do an auto generation of code by importing the WSDL from your local jira or even one of the publich JIRA instances (same version) and directly using the generated classes. I have no clue about atlassian.jira.dll, I have not used it.

And if you business logic requires that you trigger JIRA, then SOAP or REST is fine. But if you need JIRA to trigger you, either you should write a plugin, or use the latest method of Webhooks (in labs) which can trigger you via JSON data during issue changes.

And regarding, when/how you write a plugin, read https://developer.atlassian.com/display/HOME/Welcome

Praveen October 17, 2012

Renjith,

What do you mean by "do an auto generation of code by importing the WSDL from your local jira or even one of the publich JIRA instances (same version) and directly using the generated classes." How can I do that?

Regards

Praveen.

Renjith Pillai
Rising Star
Rising Star