How to implement JIRA plugin caching?

Victor Cheung December 18, 2017

Hello,

I'm new to JIRA development and I'm following this article on implementing plugin caching:  https://developer.atlassian.com/confdev/development-resources/confluence-developer-faq/how-do-i-cache-data-in-a-plugin

However, after installing my plugin and trying to test it, it does not behave as expected.

Each time I make a request to my plugin, it basically instantiates a new instance of my plugin.  The constructor is called for every request I make, so a new CacheManager is created and each request does the expensive retrieval of data from the database.  In other words, each request is like visiting my plugin for the very first time and effectively there is no caching because of this.

Why does my plugin not live beyond the scope of a single request?  Is this perhaps a plugin scope configuration that I need to configure?  I read the article about JIRA plugin lifecycle: https://developer.atlassian.com/jiradev/jira-platform/building-jira-add-ons/jira-plugins2-overview/jira-plugin-lifecycle#JIRAPluginLifecycle-Componentinitialisation  and also read articles about "JIRA plugin scope" but they're not talking about plugin scope as it relates to development.

Thanks in advance!

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Alexey Matveev
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 18, 2017

Hello,

You need to inject CacheManager. In this case CacheManager always stays the same. Also you can make your class as a bean adding Named annotation to the class. It is difficult to say for sure what is wrong with your code because you did not provide it.

Hi Alexey,