How to export conversation from JIRA?

Charlotte Wolff May 17, 2019

Is there any other way to export conversations from JIRA apart from JIRA Cloud?

1 answer

0 votes
Levente Szabo _Midori_
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
May 17, 2019

Hi @Charlotte Wolff

Can you please clarify what do you mean by "conversations"? Do you mean the issue comments?

Also, what do you mean by "any other way apart from Jira Cloud"? Which exporting option did you already try exactly that doesn't fit your needs?

Yes I mean the issue comments, the conversations people have between tickets (I'm not as advanced in Jira, I am still learning).

I haven't tried any exporting methods as yet, I have just done the research. I can't seem to find where the export is kept in Jira, and through research I have found that you can only export issue comments through having Jira Cloud. Please correct me if I am wrong.

Many thanks.

Levente Szabo _Midori_
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
May 17, 2019

There are options to export certain types of data from Jira Server as well as Cloud.

Jira itself offers only limited options to export information: you have an "Export" drop-down menu in Server for example that allows you to choose CSV export or HTML.

If you want more advanced options, exporting metadata like comment, issue history, worklogs, etc. you will most certainly need an exporter app from the Atlassian Marketplace. For exporting issue comments you can try Better PDF Exporter (from our team), that can export all sorts of Jira data. See this example: 

56614f21-abe0-4872-a5bc-9c9e8424259e.png

You can also do that for Excel.

If you prefer a different export output, I suggest search for it on the Marketplace!