How to auto create sub tasks after an issue with custom fields selected.

Chris Rose January 22, 2013

Hi there.

I will have a workflow that I need help understanding.

I will have issues created where there is a custom field that has 5 selectable options. These determine which teams work on the fix. What I need is for the issue to generate individual sub tasks for those selected options.

I would also need these sub-tasks to be individually assignable to different individuals (they will be set to assignable user status).

I would then want it to so that once all Sub-Tasks are completed and closed, the original master issue then closes too.

I am very new to writing scripts and such, so if I could get a detailed step by step, I would be forever in your debt. Thank you for taking the time to read this!

6 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Bhushan Nagaraj
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 23, 2013

Chris,

Let us start with closing the parent issue when the subtask is closed.

1. Go to the workflow being used by your sub-task.

2. Click on the transition you would like to run this script (to close parent task if all subtasks are closed)

3. Then select Post-functions and choose to Add a new post-function

4. Select "Script post-function" and click "Next"

5. Select "Transition parent when all sub-tasks are closed"

6. Choose the status for the parent task and a resolution.

Let me know once you get this far.

Chris Rose January 23, 2013

I have completed the steps you have mentioned. Thank you. What's your next advice?

Would you recommend that I have a separate workflow for Sub-Tasks? Or is sharing one across all issues/tasks and sub-tasks acceptable?

Bhushan Nagaraj
Rising Star
Rising Star