How to add Custom field with rich text ?

Alex Benavides February 15, 2016

Just like the Description and Comments field have it. I added one but it is plain text
I want to add a separate field with developers comments.

2 answers

1 accepted

14 votes
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 15, 2016

Have a look at the "field configuration" for the project//issue type.  Check that your field's "renderer" is set to something other than "plain text"

Alex Benavides February 15, 2016

THANK YOU !! For some reason, this wasns't easy to find in the documentation smile

Steven Craft September 4, 2017

I can't find this setting from the accepted answer. Sorry, I'm new to Jira!

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 4, 2017

Start with the project settings page and look for "field configuration scheme", you should be able to drill down from there.

Like Cameron Evans likes this
Steven Craft September 5, 2017

Got it, thanks! 

Malachi Burke January 18, 2019

This helped me a lot.  Thank you!

Liubov Chornobai February 6, 2019

Thanks!

Benjamin Rosen May 20, 2019

Hi, this didn't work for me! I did the following project settings > fields > actions > edit fields. Then on the row next to the custom field I wanted to make rich text, I clicked > renderers > wiki style renderer (changed from the only other option, default text renderer). It still didn't work. I would like to be able to add pictures, bullets etc like on comments (and on this forum). Please let me know what I did wrong! Thank you very much. 

Like # people like this
Jess B June 27, 2019