How do I restrict a newly created Jira project to only certain users/developers?

Bennie Smith August 30, 2012

I am very new to this Jira stuff. I've been asked to create a Project and restrict it so that only certain users have access to the project. Managing permisssions doesn't seem to be a straight forward process.

What are the specific steps required to make sure that only users/developers associated with the project can see and modify items in the project?

6 answers

0 votes
Jerome Martin August 31, 2012

ok it was not understandable, sorry

Your need is : control the visibility of a project. You have different users and you don't want they see all the projects. It's what i understand.

when i say "don't touch.. are goods", i try to focus your mind on this fact. You don't need to configure the permission system for your need. You just have to create groups and assign groups in the good roles on the project. That's all.

Bennie Smith August 31, 2012

Thanks again for the input. I see what you're saying. And I did create a group with only the users who should have access to this project and created a new permisssions scheme that includes that group and I have assigned that permission scheme to the project. (I think.) (of course, it would still be nice to just go to a project page, click on a users link, select the authorized users, and click OK.)

I'm sure there is some other tweaking to do with the roles but that's going to have to wait until after this upcoming 3 day holiday weekend!

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
August 31, 2012

I find it more simple to start with groups. Once you are happy with using groups in permission schemes (and notification schemes and so-on), then you can move on to roles.

Roles are nicer than groups because

1. They are a project thing.