How do I re-index if there isn't an Indexing option in Advanced System Settings?

Stephanie Latterman July 11, 2017

I am a Jira admin, and the option Indexing just isn't there. I also don't have an Actions option in Project Settings to reindex just a project. How do I re-index??

2 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
MattS
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 11, 2017
Stephanie Latterman July 11, 2017

Thank you for your reply!

JIRA, by default, only grants the user account created during the JIRA Setup Wizard with the JIRA System Administrators global permission, and that person has to add the rest of us Admins specifically to JIRA System Administrators. 

MattS
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 11, 2017

Odd. I thought that the wizard created one group jira-administrators, added the newly created internal user to that group, and then set Global Permissions to use jira-administrators for both JIRA System Administrators and JIRA Administrators permissions. At least in JIRA 7.2

Krys Bromek November 7, 2017

I am definitely an administrator , but cannot locate the re-index function in the new interface of Jira - Cloud.

Has anyone been able to locate that functionality?

Rant warning: I am finding it difficult to do a lot of standard things in that interface and when something like this comes along, done only rarely - I spend a lot of time chasing it. This is a big time waster for me.

Like # people like this
Konstantin Sokolov November 7, 2017

I've the the same problem. Cannot find any solution. Jira documentation on that issue from Sep 4, 2017 seems to be outdated.

Krys Bromek November 7, 2017