How can I use ScriptRunner to create multiple subtasks based on a post function?

Jesse Hernandez January 26, 2017

Currently using JIRA CLOUD

I am building a new hire form. Once the form is created and a user clicks "Start Progress" I have it so the issue will automatically create a single subtask and assign it to a user.  

Note: The New Hire form has about 25-30 subtasks that our team will work on simultaneously from ICT to HR and Finance.

• Create multiple subtasks where I can define subtask summary, assignee and description with a custom script.
  • Send custom email notification if a custom field matches condition
    • Example: If the department matches "Sales" then send an email to "Email Address" with preset message and include issue details(Various custom fields) within the email.

I am new to scriptrunner and groovy and would love a tutorial or guide on where I can find the fields/code needed to make this script work.

2 answers

4 votes
Jon Bevan [Adaptavist]
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 26, 2017

Hi Jesse,

You have two options here:

1. You can create multiple 'Create Subtask' Workflow Post Functions (see http://scriptrunner-docs.connect.adaptavist.com/jiracloud/post-functions.html#_create_subtask) for the 'Start Progress' transition, and also add a Post Function for sending a notification (see http://scriptrunner-docs.connect.adaptavist.com/jiracloud/post-functions.html#_send_notification)
    When you are configuring the 'Create Subtask' post function there is an example code snippet you can use to set the assignee, and its simple to set the description using the following code:

subtask.fields.description = "Some description"

For the notification, you can write a code condition that checks the value of a specific custom field: