How can I default to a user (such as reporter) in a transition but still keep it changeable?

Deleted user April 13, 2017

I am new to Jira and am trying to figure out how to accomplish this in our workflow.

Problem:

We have a Needs Info state where in most cases it should assign to the reporter. I don't want to ONLY allow this though as the user might need to assign it to a different person for the info that they need. This means that a post function will not work for me as far as I can tell. So, what I would like to be able to do is have the Assignee field defaulted to reporter but use the selected Assignee if the user changed it to someone else.

So far I have not been able to figure out a way to make this work.

Some of what I have tried

1.  I tried using the "Update on Transition" add on to detect if the Assignee was blank during a transition and then set it to reporter thinking that if a value was selected that it would use that instead 
  2. I then came across JJupin and thought it would work since they seem to describe exactly what I want to do through live fields here  but so far I have not been able to get this to work either.

Has anyone else run into this problem and figured out how to solve it? Setting default values in the transition screens that could then be changed would be the ideal solution.

Thanks,

Doug

2 answers

0 votes
Alex Christensen
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 14, 2017

Do you have ScriptRunner installed? We are on Server using ScriptRunner and I was able to use this scripted post-function - if the Assignee field is left as "Automatic" when creating an issue, then the issue gets assigned to the Reporter. You could use this in your transition - this would allow you to choose an Assignee, or leave it as "Automatic" and then the issue would be assigned to the Reporter.