Help Desk Alerts

Eric September 3, 2019

Hi, I'm fairly new to jira, and work in a place that uses help desk. 

We have 7 offices in the US, and tickets come in, and go to an unassigned area. We must keep an eye on that section throughout the day, and if it's for our city/area, we assign it to ourselves. 

I imagine there could be a filter or alert that would notify use via email, skype or Teams, as we use all of those, so I don't have to keep checking on that section throughout the day.

Is there a way to create such a notification system, and if so, how?

2 answers

0 votes
Eric September 6, 2019

Hi @Ismael Jimoh thank you for replying. Yes, we have an Office Location field, I think that's what you mean by section.

Tickets show the locations of the staff, unless they are remote users, where it will say "remote user".

I handle 3 offices, and I would like to be notified of anything new that appears in those, and the remote users, and I imagine others in other locations would like to be notified for their locations as well.

I don't really know much about filtering. Attaching a screen shot of what I look at, minus some info I've blacked out. I know some SQL, and learned that there is JQL, and they are similar.

I also know there are rich and non-rich filters.  The results I am looking at looks like a non-rich filter.

Does that clarify what we are working on and can you elaborate on how to make those filters?

jira1.png

Eric September 12, 2019

bump. any news?

Ismael Jimoh
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 13, 2019

Hi @Eric 

What you need to do is the following:

1. Either edit the filter or create a new filter Where (Office Location = 'Your Region' AND Assignee is Empty). Save the search into a filter