Four Part Cascading Selection

Brandon Eldridge December 29, 2017

Hello.

Gotta say this up front, I'm very new to configuring and administering Jira so I'm still learning a lot. This may be something obvious but I just cannot find a method to do what I want here, I've searched a lot but can't find anything.

I'm looking to create a four part cascading menu. I've found the Select List (Cascading) field type, but I need more than two drop-downs.

I'd like to get it set up like so:

List A

Location A or Location B

List B

Major Issue categories based on Location A or B

List C

More Specific Issue categories based on selection in List B

List D

Exact issue based on selection in List C

So basically, drilling further down based on the selections in each consecutive drop down list.

Is this possible in Jira? If not, what would be a viable alternative?

Any assistance is greatly appreciated! If I can provide any more specifics that would help I can gladly do so.

2 answers

1 accepted

Comments for this post are closed

Community moderators have prevented the ability to post new answers.

Post a new question

1 vote
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 30, 2017

Off-the-shelf, no, the 2 level cascading select is all you can do.

However, one great think about Jira is extensibility -

• the Behaviours module in the ScriptRunner add-on can tie separate select lists together to emulate a 4-level cascading select
  • there is a multi-level cascading select that implements it more easily than ScriptRunner (no need to write code)

I've got a feeling there are other add-ons that you could use too.  Have a look in the marketplace!

Brandon Eldridge December 30, 2017

Ok awesome, I'll definitely take a look in the marketplace and in ScriptRunner. Thank you so much for the help!