Firefox can't connect with server localhost:8080 on Jira start-up.

Oleksiy Holyarchuk May 5, 2013

I'm new to Jira and have downloaded trial version on your main page.

After successfully completed installation I can't launch Jira.

Firefox tells me that can't establish connection with local server localhost:8080 .

What should I do in order to fix this problem and try Jira out? I'm running Win XP SP3.

Many thanks in advance. Kind regards, Oleksiy.

10 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Pascal Charbonneau May 5, 2013

If you do not see a log file it probably means that the JIRA didnt even try starting. Do you see the service as started under the windows services list?

Normally you will find the following log under the %jira-home/log directory: atlassian-jira

You can also usually find a stderr and stdout in your C:\Program Files\Atlassian\JIRA\logs directory that may give you some hints.

1 vote

Pascal, you made my day! :) (night)

+1000 for your advice.

Following your advice, I've checked list of windows services and Jira service was ACTIVE(working) as well as causing mentioned problem. I restarted this service and Jira finally got working.

Thank you so much! It has finally delivered and Jira launched it's setup.

Can I ask you one more tiny little thing? How to set up Jira to use Firefox as defaut browser? 'cose it uses Opera, which I'm not really fond of.

1 vote
Bhushan Nagaraj
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 5, 2013

Hi Oleksiy,

Try http://localhost:8080/jira and if does not work check your log file.

https://confluence.atlassian.com/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=16121981

Secondly, are you using any anti-virus?

I use, McAfee and JIRA won't start until I stop my anti-virus services.

I stop the following services in McAfee

1. Access Protection