Export templates and different versions of JIRA

Alec Jasanovsky July 12, 2017

I'm new to being a JIRA admin and I've been tasked with migrating our JIRA server to cloud. I have a couple of other solutions in mind, however the problem I'm having right now is a difference in export formats. 

Our JIRA server is outdated some, and our cloud is fully up-to-date, so when you export something like an project case, the formats are quite different (which obviously messes with the import).

So I'd like to go into the server itself and change the actual export templates to that of the updated cloud's (however I think that'll require a full restart on a production server) - Or I could write a simple script, or figure out a project migration addon and bang it out altogether.

Can anyone offer the best solution?

2 answers

0 votes
Alec Jasanovsky July 12, 2017

Hi Nick,

The backup & restore would have been ideal however someone before me already created the cloud instance and seemingly built it from scratch. So all the projects, tickets, and data is still on the old, outdated-server.

In order to call the migration a success - I'd like to be able to transfer all projects, tickets(cases), and data over to our cloud instance. I've been doing it by hand to just get an understanding of the process and layout (still new to JIRA) but it seems like my best bet is a Project Migration addon.

As I was going through my testing, I manually created the new project on the cloud instance and I wanted to export all "cases" or to clarify from above, the "Project Tickets/Issues" from my old server into the cloud.

To clarify the format issues - when I export all the cases to an Excel Doc, the format (layout of the information) is not the same as the updated cloud instance's excel format. So during the import, for example JIRA is looking for ticket titles where there are none, so the creation of my tickets only contain a random data set from the import sheet.