Editing Workflow Default Status In Progress

Big Jim July 15, 2017

I'm new to Jira so sorry if this is a silly question.

I'm trying to define a issue type workflow. This workflow includes BLOCKED and IN PROGRESS which seem to be default statuses. My problem is I want to edit the descriptions for the issue type I am working on but also want the default BLOCKED and IN PROGRESS to remain available for other issue types I may define later in the same project. Do I need to give them a different name to achieve this ? I presume it is possible to use more than one workflow per project ?

I hope that makes sense !

2 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 16, 2017

Yep, it's easier to think of the status as being independent of the workflows.

JIRA has a list of global status.  When you build a workflow, you have to give each workflow step a single status.  Those status are pulled from the global list.  The workflow editor also allows you to amend that global list.

So, your blocked and in-progress status are shared objects on that list.  If you rename or edit them, you will affect *all* the workflows that are using them.  But you can use them in as many workflows as you want.

To use more than one workflow in a project, take a look at the "workflow scheme".  This is a project configuration setting that says "for this issue type in this project, use that workflow".  The defaults and project creation stuff all tend to set up a 1:1, so the workflow scheme says "for this project, use this workflow for all issue types".  But you are free to change them, having things like "For Bugs, use bug workflow, for new features, use new-thingy workflow, and for all other issue types, use the default"

Big Jim July 16, 2017