Easy way to find what projects are using a plugin?

Abhi Vaishnav
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 9, 2014

Hey guys,

We are currently upgrading our JIRA instance all the pugins we have installed.

In the process, there are some plugins that have gone from being free to being paid.

I am not against paying for the non-free plugins, but I really don't want to if we are not using it.

With that regard, does anybody know how to track where (which project/workflow/filter) a plugin is being used?

I should point out, I am new to administring this instance of JIRA (new job, <1 month on it). So any help/pointers to make this easier for me would be much appreciated.

4 answers

1 accepted

7 votes
Answer accepted
Boris Georgiev _Appfire_
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 9, 2014

Configuration Manager for JIRA can help you with that. Install an evaluation version of the add-on and create a "Project Snapshot" for each project and manually analyze the plugins used by each project. Here're the steps to analyze plugins used by a single project:

1. Download the snapshot file
  2. Open the file in an editor
  3. Go to the end of file or search for "<plugins" - this will bring you to the section where the plugin dependencies of those project are listed. It will look simular to :
    &lt;plugins name="Custom Field Types &amp;amp; Searchers" key="com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.customfieldtypes" version="1.0" vendor="Atlassian" vendorURL="http://www.atlassian.com" requiredBy="//@customFields.0 //@customFields.1 //@customFields.2 //@customFields.3"/&gt;