Does a stand alone installation stops you from applying Tomcat security updates?

anatole farci July 30, 2013

Hi,

I'm new to JIRA and not a Tomcat person but I was told that one of the benefits of using WAR installations vs. Stand alone/installer is that if we have to deploy any Tomcat security updates, using the stand alone, it would be harder.

Working a little in the Websphere and WAR files on another application, my understanding is that it should in irrelevant. While I understand that the OS Tomcat installation vs. JIRA stand alone might place the binaries in different folders, etc. but does the stand alone really makes Tomcat updates that much harder? I figured in worst case, one would export/build a WAR file of the current JIRA, update tomcat and re-import the saved WAR file in case the Tomcat patch updated any JIRA data/binaries.

Thanks

Anatole

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
LucasA
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 30, 2013

Hi Anatole,

Atlassian also ships the latest Tomcat version with JIRA standalone. Since we have a JIRA version every 2 weeks, in a worst case scenario you would have a 14 days gap between a new Tomcat version and a new JIRA release. If this is a problem for you, a EAR/WAR deployment would fit better for your needs, but it's a little bit more complex than the JIRA automatic installer. Since you are already experienced with WebSphere, the process shouldn't be that hard. :)

Best regards,
Lucas Timm

anatole farci July 30, 2013

Lucas,