Once the deleted user has past the 14 days grace period, does Jira remove their share filters and dashboards? Or is the only actual difference between a deactivated user and a deleted user (at that time) is that their name appears differently? 'Former User' and not deactivated? I know you cannot reactivated a deleted user and that their private filters and dashboards are gone. Thanks.
It is better to deactivate a user's account than deleting it, for history purposes.
Jira won't delete any filters or dashboards that belong to the deleted user. Actually you will create a big problem if the user had shared filters and dashboards, or if he was in JQL queries that use membersof("")function
If you don't like seeing the deactivated users in your instance , try to create a service account(SA) then assign their filters and dashboards to the SA.
Also if this will help a deactivated user no longer count toward licenses in Jira.
If you have any questions, let me know.
@Fadoua just for curiosity.
What will happen with Dashboard and filters? Are those no longer accessible?
You mentioned 'for history purposes'... what are those? How the Jira data will be affected by deleting a user?
What I've seen is that users change the name to 'Former user' but are their issues still searchable in JQL?
@Daniel Alonso that's why it is better to deactivate the accounts, so that you can still see the dashboards, filters.
You can change the Dashboards, Filters, owners that is another option to consider.
However if it is not badly required, deleting an account is not the best option.
Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!Find an event
Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!
Unfortunately there are no Community Events near you at the moment.Host an event