Deeper explanation on custom cascading fields please

Shane Corley January 11, 2016

I am new to JIRA and trying to learn the ropes. I have a csv file containing all the software my company uses. They asked me to upload it to JIRA so we can easily access everything online, similar to your system with all your hardware.  Because there are 250+ data entries I want to create a custom cascading field to better organize the software. I'm organizing the programs based on department (parent values). Is it possible to have a parent issue where the user can go and see a cascading dropdown of the different departments and then all the software under the highlighted department? If they click on it, it will then link them to the issue that's relevant to that specific software. Thanks!

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Steven F Behnke
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 11, 2016

A cascading select works by parenting child options to a parent. Thus, if we were selling wine, we could organize them by TYPE (red perhaps), then NAME (red blend). It does not cascade from Parent Issue to Child Issue, it's just a field type; the child values in the right field map to parent values in the left field.

image2016-1-11 12:50:37.png

Shane Corley January 11, 2016

Okay thank you. So if I wanted to cascade from a Parent Issue to a Child Issue there's no feature to do this so I could just link the two issues correct? This cascading field type wouldn't help me.

Steven F Behnke
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 11, 2016