Debugging workflow transitions

Jason Vou April 29, 2012

Hi everyone, please pardon any ambiguities or confusion since this is my first post and I am new to being a JIRA admin. I've created a custom workflow and attached it to a scheme that a project is referencing. When I go and create an Issue Type (in this example, a 'story' issue type) and try to start the workflow, I am getting an error with the following message:

The start of my workflow is here:

I get the exception when on the "Not Started" state trying to click "Start Development" to transition to the "Dev Started" state.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

4 answers

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 29, 2012

Ouch, that looks like a corrupted issue in the database. I see you've tried re-indexing, which is always worth a shot.

However, I'd run the integrity checker. This can correct entries in the database if they've been damaged.

If that helps, then it's worth thinking about the causes. In my experience, there are three main reasons

1. Someone or something did a hard kill on the server running Jira. Anything from a "kill -9" to feeding the server coffee (don't laugh, I had a cat tip a mug down the back of my machine once. Can't blame anyone other than the idiot who left the coffee there though - me)
  2. Bad code - plugins can make a mess of the database, but they have to try really hard via the API. I guess core code could do it too, but I suspect Atlassian would have ironed those out well before version 2...
  3. Someone ran SQL against the database while Jira was running. (Find them and remove their access - you should never allow this. Reading is fine, but not write)
Jason Vou April 29, 2012

Hi Nic,