Create a calculated field showing a percentage

Alastair Batchelor May 7, 2015

Hi all, I would appreciate it of someone could help me here. I'm completely new to JIRA and have no background as a user. I'm sure what I'm asking is actually fairly simple but I cant get it to work. 

Essentially I have two number fields and I want to create a third which shows a percentage of the two. So simply: 

Formula.JPG

I have attempted this using a calculated number field and some "script":

<!-- @@Formula: (issue.get("customFieldId=10427") &divide; issue.get("customFieldId=10007") : 0)–>

This has not worked and even if it had I'm not sure it would show a percentage anyway.

I understand I could use a scripted field which I have the add in to do but I don't know where to start with that.

Help much appreciated smile 

2 answers

0 votes
Junaid Shah
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 7, 2015

Have you tried using a scripted field? I use that for a lot of calculations, and setting it as a text would allow you to add the % symbol as well.

Its with the Script Runner Plugin: https://jamieechlin.atlassian.net/wiki/display/GRV/Scripted+Fields

Here you can set your custom fields but using getCustomFieldValue("Custom Field Name")

and then perform the calculations you want and then returning the answer, if you need the percentage sign you can set it to return as a text searcher have something like

return "% " + answer

Which would end up something like this that you can use:

try{
//Retrieve two dates
w = getCustomFieldValue("Custom Field Name 1")
x = getCustomFieldValue("Custom Field Name 2")

//If Statement to check for nulls
if(w &amp;&amp; x != null){

//Calculating and saving answer
double answer = w/x as double

//displaying(returning) the answer
return answer
}
}
catch(Exception e)
{
}