Changing the resolution

miltonstreet November 21, 2013

I am new to Jira. I have it setup but have not changed a whole lot from the basic setup. For the world in me, I cannot figure out how to change the resolution to done. What am I missing?

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Bhushan Nagaraj
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 21, 2013

Resolution "Done" is not available in JIRA by default but you can create one.

The default resolutions available in JIRA are "Fixed", "Won't Fix", "Duplicate", "Incomplete" and "Cannot Reproduce".

Login to JIRA as system administrator. Go to Administration and go to Issues.

Find Resolutions and use the "Add new resolution" option to create a new resolution called "Done". Now when you try to close the issue, you will be able to set the Resolution to "Done".

0 votes
RambanamP
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 21, 2013

check the Close Issues permission on permission scheme

check here for more info on permission scheme

https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/JIRA/Managing+Project+Permissions

check this document to know more about how to defineresolutions

https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/JIRA/Defining+'Resolution'+Field+Values

miltonstreet November 22, 2013

Ok, I am confussed here. I have all possible rights on the system, I just gave the administrator the rights to "Resolve Issues" and when I go into an issue, the Resolution is still not editable, it still says unresolved. If I understand thing correctly I want to get it to be resoleved so that the version reports shows what is resolved in a given version, correct? How do I do that?