Change task status in workflow by changing subtask (Workflow Transitions / Groovy)

Patrick Mooney September 4, 2015

I am attempting to resolve a very simple issue – I want to have a parent task's status in our workflow change to Resolved, when (and only when) all associated sub-tasks have been moved to Resolved.  To me, this seems like very basic functionality, but I am not a coder.  Our JIRA instance is Cloud / Ondemand, so our plugin options are limited, but I have been working with JIRA Misc Workflow Extensions.

I have looked through the documentation here, and experimented with changing the properties in Workflow Transitions.  Several posts refer to using Conditions or Validators to determine the criteria for a parent task transitioning from one state to another.  I have had some success using Transition Parent Issue in Post Functions – setting a status transition to be "triggered on the issue's parent issue."  

However, I have found that when a task tries to transition a parent task to a state it's already in, I get an error. For example, let's say I create a task with 2 sub-tasks.  I move one sub-task from To Do to In Progress.  The parent task is correspondingly set to In Progress (good so far).  But when I try to move the second task from To Do to In Progress, the parent task is already set to In Progress.  Here is the error message:

image2015-9-4 17:30:35.png

For the life of me, I cannot figure out how to use Workflow Transitions to limit a transition based on criteria (such as excluding an interaction if the parent is already set to a certain status).  I am instead attempting to use a Groovy script – there is an option in Post Functions for a Conditional Execution "only if the Groovy expression returns true."   This simple code has been effective for the above interaction:

if(parentIssue.get("status").getName()
== "To Do" || parentIssue.get("status").getName() ==
"Reopened"){

return true;
} else {
return false;
}