Cannot drag issue on kanban board from one status to a different status

fmoor March 16, 2016

I am new to JIRA Kanban. I am evaluating whether it will serve my team's needs. One of the requirements is that issues can be marked as blocked. We are not a software team and will not be tracking software development. We work on hardware. Our issues can be blocked if other groups or teams do not deliver hardware in time, or if the hardware does not work as advertised, which happens frequently in development of new products. If I look at the board Configuration -> Columns section I see that the In Progress column has a BLOCKED status. If I select an issue in a board the details show the status as IN PROGRESS but I can't change it to BLOCKED. If I try dragging the issue there is no box for BLOCKED. How do I change an issue's status to BLOCKED?

7 answers

1 accepted

4 votes
Answer accepted
Jared Dohrman [Design Industries]
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 16, 2016

Hi @fmoor,

The workflow that your issue type is using will need a transition from In Progress to Blocked. The Kanban board will also need to have the status mapped to the column (you can do this by Configuring the board, and clicking on columns, and then drag and drop the statuses to suit)

The trick is that you can only drag and drop between a column (one or more statuses) if there is a transition between the two statuses on the workflow status you are trying to drag from.

Thanks,

Jared.

Andy Heinzer
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
March 17, 2021

I agree that Jared’s answer here is the correct answer to the original question. When dealing with boards in Jira Software, it is the workflow that controls which statuses can issue can move into.