Can Jira be included in web app?

aminamyna December 1, 2014

Hi all,

I'm new to the JIRA community, so I hope you will forgive any noob questions and welcome them warmly. 

I am wondering as product manager whether JIRA can be included in my product as a ticketing solution?

I have a ticketing feature in my web product, I don't want my engineers to build it from scratch. We are considering using JIRA but we are wondering whether that's even possible.

Any guidelines ? I have found that JIRA can integrate with web server, I was wondering how to have it as part of the product without the user having to feel that they are moving to JIRA. 

Thanks in advance for the input. Feel free to get back to me with questions. 

2 answers

1 vote
Matheus Fernandes
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
December 1, 2014

Hi Amina,

You could possibly add a Issue Collector from JIRA in the web page you want - see Using the Issue Collector. Alternatively, if you're looking for something a bit more tailored, you can build something using the JIRA Rest APIsmile

I hope this helps!

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 1, 2014

>I am wondering as product manager whether JIRA can be included in my product as a ticketing solution?

It's effectively a standalone application, so you're not going to "include it in a product" in the sense most people would use that sentence.  

However, You have options - there are a few ways to poke data in without leaving your current application (mostly over REST), but the easiest off-the-shelf way is the issue collectors - see https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/JIRA/Using+the+Issue+Collector

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader