Can I have separate urls for Service Desk and JIRA Software if both reside on the same server?

Teresa Hollidge July 8, 2016

We currently have 2 separate instances of JIRA - one for development and one for support. We are considering combining the instances and adding Service Desk for use by the support team. Will it be possible to continue use both of the URLs our customers (and engineers) have become accustomed to even though a single instance of JIRA Software and JIRA Service Desk will reside a single server (for example, support.mycompany.com to access servicedesk projects and jira.mycompany.com to access JIRA Software projects)?

We're being told that we will. My question is how? I haven't found anything in the docs that explains this. I'm new to Service Desk but I'm not new to JIRA and Confluence.

Thanks! Teresa

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 8, 2016

Simple answer is "No", but with some workarounds.

JIRA, and hence anything you install in it, has a single base url which is used for all operations.  You really do have to run it all on a single URL.