Bulk Delete Issue Links

Sergio C Silva June 22, 2015

Some users improperly created an absurd number of links between issues of two two projects. This is causing serious JIRA performance impacts.
Removing these links manually is not viable, so I would like to remove these links directly into the database?
Is that possible?
Is there any other way to bulk remove issue links?

7 answers

2 votes
Tiffany Mathews January 16, 2019

The only way I was able to do anything was to go to the primary ticket (the one with all the others linked and delete each link) It was tedious but better than jumping from ticket to ticket to delete the links. I really can not stand that so many logical things need plug-ins/add-ons to do in JIRA. I am not a developer and I feel like you have to be one to get JIRA to do what you need it to do 50% of the time. This should be a bulk change feature!

1 vote
mike February 20, 2019

Contents of Bob Swift's link (however it doesn't appear to be a solution):

Sergio Silva· over 3 years ago
Some users improperly created an absurd number of links between issues of two two projects. This is causing serious JIRA performance impacts. Removing these links manually is not viable.
I saw in the JIRA cli addon documentation that I can delete issue links via comman line, but in the example are required of the issue keys and link type. With JIRA cli I can delete all links of a particular type of all issues found with a JQL search?

==========

Bob Swift [Bob Swift Atlassian Apps] answered on this - over 3 years ago
Yes, I think so. You front end the deleteLink with a runFromIssueList specifying the jql parameter.

----------

Sergio Silva - over 3 years ago
Hi Bob!
Thanks for your reply.
I am testing this resource and I used the commands below unsuccessfully:

C:\JIRA CLI>jira --action runFromIssueList --jql "issueFunction in hasLinkType('Blocks')" --common " --action deleteLink --link "10000""
Run: --action deleteLink --link 10000