Building a documentation sign-off workflow - any tips or samples?

Shawn in Van August 26, 2013

This is essentially my first day on Jira and I am trying to absorb as much as possible, as quick as possible about Jira.

As a technical writer, I am finding that there isn't a lot of information about how to adapt Jira to my technical writing requirements (or is there?).

For instance, I am trying to build a documentation sign-off workflow. However, before I do that, I need to fully understand how issues and statuses interact as well as transitions.

As a very basic description, I am trying to build a workflow to handle the following:

Create issue - document review

Step 1: document outline review

Step 2: sign-off when review is complete

Step 3: document draft review

Step 4: sign-off when draft iterations are completed and accepted

Step 5: document/design final review

Step 6: sign-off when document is verified as meeting all requirements

Step 7: publish

I am thinking that this is going to be one issue that changes status after each document phase is complete.

I just have to figure out how to build this into a Jira workflow. Any thoughts/tips? I'll be watching some training videos (on You Tube) this evening.

Thank you so much!

Shawn

9 answers

2 votes
Daniel Borcherding
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 26, 2013

Shawn,

It's not for Jira, but there is a plugin for Confluence that does pretty much exactly what you are looking for.

https://marketplace.atlassian.com/plugins/com.comalatech.workflow