Best way to do configuration management in Jira?

Amy Hogan October 16, 2014

We have several product lines and a weekly maintenance window when we release into production, and an ad hoc window when we release into Test or other environments. Right now, we manage the approvals etc. on this in our defect tracking system (HP QualityCenter) as a separate project where the defects are actual change request tickets. Depending on the environment and product and change type, different levels of approval are required. Whether or not the change was actually deployed into Production (and by who) is also tracked on these tickets.

I want to move this over to JIRA because we are moving to JIRA for requirement and issue tracking.  What is the best way to do this? Should I set up a separate JIRA project? Is this something Bamboo does? (I have no experience with bamboo). Other thoughts?

Thank you for any insight or advice!

2 answers

1 vote
Andrew Wolpers [BlackPearl PDM]
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 16, 2014

You could do a workflow with an approval process included in it. Essentially, this would be done by having certain transitions/statuses that are blocked for users that are not in either a certain group or role (this would be done in Conditions, on the transition itself).

So, for example your workflow might look something like this:

New -> In Review - > Accepted* -> In Progress -> Committed -> Resolved -> Closed

-> Rejected* (this would lead to close or in review, depending on circumstance)

Note the Accepted. This would need to have the sufficient rights during the transition between In Review and AcceptedRejected would then be a similar situation, because this is the intended bottleneck for approval and control.