Automatic subtask status change depending on previous subtask status

Germain Vincent July 13, 2017

Hi everybody,

context: JIRA 7.2.0 and ScriptRunner. Not allowed to install more plugin. 2 worflows, one for the parent and one workflow dedicated to subtasks.

I'm new to JIRA and my company ask me to create post script functions that could be able to automatically change the status of subtasks or parents on specific conditions.

More specifically:

While the parent ticket is on "Open" status, user can create as many qualification subtasks as he wants/needs.

When all qualification subtasks are created, user can use the "start qualification" transition. This will change the parent status from "OPEN" to "Qualification in progress" and the status of the first subtask of the list from "Waiting" to "To do".

My first question is: Which script would you use to do that?

Then, I must add a post script function on the transition "Close subtask" that set the subtask status from "In progress" to "Closed" which will automatically change the status of the next subtask from "Waiting" to "To do".

Have you any idea on how I could manage that?

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

2 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Tarun Sapra
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 13, 2017

Hi Germain,

When user "clicks" on the "start qualification" to transition the parent from "open" to "qualification in progress" then to transition the first sub-task, you can see complete code sample here - https://community.atlassian.com/t5/Atlassian-Marketplace-questions/Groovy-Script-for-auto-transition-of-Subtask-which-can-be/qaq-p/152675 

You can write a similar script to transition to transition the "next subtask" from "waiting" to "to do"

Thanks a lot Tarun, I will have a look on that!

Tarun,