Accessing users to groups by project lead

Rumceisz May 13, 2012

Hi All,

many of my project leads (I am a Jira admin) claim for user administration to their duty. As you know it is possible for all project administartors to use project roles.

But we use common user administration of our Confluence and Jira and hence Confluence doesn't use project roles but groups, using of project roles is not recommended.

Therefore at present I use to administer all the user account related requests.I would like to ask, whether is there any plugin or feature which the project leads can add users also to groups? If it is not a free solution, is not problem?

Or it would be also a clue if the project leads(proejct admins) would have a "reduced" jira administrator permission. Is it possibble?

Thanks in advance for your help!

We use now jira 4.3.4 but we will upgrade to jira 5 in a couple of weeks.

Rumi

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Bob Swift OSS (Bob Swift Atlassian Apps)
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 14, 2012

The Confluence CLI Plugin can be used to create a Confluence page with a dialog that allows you to provide selected administration functions to some users. For example add and removing users from groups. Use Confluence page restrictions to limit edit rights to administrators and view rights to selected other users to do the acitons you have defined. I only have a more general how to page that would need significant changes to suit your needs, but the same techniques apply: see How to set up a self service CLI page for Administrators

Rumceisz May 14, 2012

Hi Bob,

this is Jira, not Confluence!

Bob Swift OSS (Bob Swift Atlassian Apps)
Rising Star
Rising Star