Workflow/Transition design (selecting new assignee)

Jan Danielsson June 29, 2017

Hello,

I'm new to JIRA, I've just spent some time clicking around just to get some grasp of what can be done in it, and I'm find myself being both impressed and overwhelmed.

I'd like a very specific workflow. It's simple enough; a "documentation update" project. The flow is simply: Open -> Editing -> Reviewing -> Finalizing -> Done. Editing can transition back to itself (pass on to another editor). Review can pass back to itself (hand over to another reviewer) and also pass back to "Editing" (more work needs to be done). Finalizing can also pass back to Editing (in case the person finalizing thinks the reviewers missed something). (And the obvious ways to abort/cancel the flow for exceptional events).

I managed (through some heroic frantic clicking) to create the workflow and it can do the transitions I want, and by changing the assignee the issue can be handed over to the appropriate person (through the transition and reassigning the issue are two separate operations; I would like them to be atomic). While what I have "works" in some sense, I feel that if it's used a lot (which it will be) we need to minimize the clicks -- actually using the workflow needs to be as easy as possible.

What I would like is that each time a user selects a transition a window should pop up asking for two things: Who to reassign the issue to, and a comment (every transition needs a log post which describes what happened to cause the transition).

I figured out that asking for input in transitions is done with Screens, and I added one with a "User pick (single user)" field. This, as expected, showed a user picker but it's not actually connected to anything.

Specific question #1: How does one create a transition screen which allows the current assignee to set the new assignee?